Welcome to M1911.ORG
The M1911 Pistols Organization Forums Site

John needs your help
Please read this message.

Sponsors Panel
If you intend to buy something from the companies advertising above, or near the bottom of our pages, please use their banners in our sites. Whatever you buy from them, using those banners, gives us a small commission, which helps us keep these sites alive. You still pay the normal price, our commission comes from their profit, so you have nothing to lose, while we have something to gain. Your help is appreciated.
If you want to become a sponsor and see your banner in the above panel, click here to contact us.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1911 gunsmithing tools

THREAD CLOSED
This is an old thread. You can't post a reply in it. It is left here for historical reasons.Why don't you create a new thread instead?
    Posts liked by others

1911 gunsmithing tools

I'm new to 1911's and VERY new to gunsmithing. I'm not looking to do anything drastic but I've got a beater that I can mess around with and try my hand at installing/fitting high quality parts. What tools will I need to get started?

Thanks

Posts liked by others
    Blog Entries
    A set of punches, a set of jeweler files, some emery clothes, I guess you can start with those. Brownells is your best friend.
    John Caradimas SV1CEC
    The M1911 Pistols Organization
    http://www.m1911.org

Posts liked by others
    I know there are a lot of tools one could purchase, but after looking thru my tools there are a few that I use every time. John hit on those, but I added two more; a bench block and double headed hammer;

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=2...E_BENCH_BLOCKS

http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=1...N_BRASS_HAMMER
    If it isn't durable, it isn't reliable.

Posts liked by others
    I'd add a couple of stones, and I like the hammer to have a brass head on one side and plastic on the other, or two hammers.