Welcome to M1911.ORG
The M1911 Pistols Organization Forums Site

John needs your help
Please read this message.

Sponsors Panel
If you intend to buy something from the companies advertising above, or near the bottom of our pages, please use their banners in our sites. Whatever you buy from them, using those banners, gives us a small commission, which helps us keep these sites alive. You still pay the normal price, our commission comes from their profit, so you have nothing to lose, while we have something to gain. Your help is appreciated.
If you want to become a sponsor and see your banner in the above panel, click here to contact us.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cartridge Sticking

THREAD CLOSED
This is an old thread. You can't post a reply in it. It is left here for historical reasons.Why don't you create a new thread instead?
    Posts liked by others

Cartridge Sticking

Hi, this is my first time posting here and I am hoping someone can help me troubleshoot my issue. I do not know a lot about guns so pardon me if I use incorrect terminology. When I put in the magazine and pull the slide back the 45 acp round gets stuck as shown in the picture below. I am able to forcefully push the slide forward to chamber the round. The gun was working fine until recently. I have another 1911 that works fine and I tried using the recoil spring from the working gun but it still had this issue. The recoil spring on the m1911 that is working is a bit shorter than the one on the one that is not working. I would appreciate any suggestions and can post further information or pictures as needed. Thanks!

IMG_20210820_173417085.jpg

Posts liked by others
    Welcome to the forum. Try using the magazine from the other working pistol.

Posts liked by others
    First round out of a fully loaded magazine failure-to-feed.

Do as Doran suggests but also try this magazine in your other pistol to see if it will feed the first round out of a fully loaded magazine.