Welcome to M1911.ORG
The M1911 Pistols Organization Forums Site

John needs your help
Please read this message.

Sponsors Panel
If you intend to buy something from the companies advertising above, or near the bottom of our pages, please use their banners in our sites. Whatever you buy from them, using those banners, gives us a small commission, which helps us keep these sites alive. You still pay the normal price, our commission comes from their profit, so you have nothing to lose, while we have something to gain. Your help is appreciated.
If you want to become a sponsor and see your banner in the above panel, click here to contact us.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 1911 A1 WW2 Reloading

THREAD CLOSED
This is an old thread. You can't post a reply in it. It is left here for historical reasons.Why don't you create a new thread instead?
    Posts liked by others

1911 A1 WW2 Reloading

I am a newbe to this site but I have been reloading for about 35 years. My Dad passed away two years ago and my mother gave me his Colt 1911 A1 that he carried in Europe. He was a Ranger, after Normandy they were sent back to their old units his was out of Oklahoma. He was I forward observer for artillery for the rest of the war. I am shooting the gun, it is in great condition. That was his title in Rangers Weapons Expert. My question is how close to max reload should I get? I am loading 4.9 gr Titegroup with Fed. 150 primers and 230 FMJ bullets. They cycle great, feed great (my dad tuned his own magazines and hand honed the trigger and hammer). I just do not want to damage it because it is too important to me. Anyone know if the older 1911 can stand getting up to max reloads?

Posts liked by others
    Do not put maximum loads in that old gun.
    Do not put a lot of standard loads in that old gun.
    The collectors will warn you that they were not fully heat treated and are not as strong as postwar 1911A1s.