Welcome to M1911.ORG
The M1911 Pistols Organization Forums Site

Sponsors Panel
Ruger
If you intend to buy something from Brownells, Cabela's, Blue Ridge Firerarms or Field Supply, please use their banners in our sites. Whatever you buy from them, gives us a small commission, which helps us keep these sites alive. You still pay the normal price, our commission comes from their profit, so you have nothing to lose, while we have something to gain. Also, don't forget to visit our other sponsors sites, click-throughs are appreciated by our advertisers. Your help is appreciated.
If you want to become a sponsor and see your banner in the above panel, click here to contact us.

Thread: How to adjust an adjustable trigger?

THREAD CLOSED
This is an old thread. You can't post a reply in it. It is left here for historical reasons.Why don't you create a new thread instead?

How to adjust an adjustable trigger?

I'm new to 1911s (obviously). What exactly does the screw in my adjustable trigger do? Can anyone please give me a quick toutorial on how to adjust it?
    TIA

It will adjust how far the trigger will continue to travel after the hammer falls, and nothing else.

If you're not sure what to do with it, leave as it was set from the factory.

If it is adjusted for not enough travel it can ruin the trigger pull weight (make it harder to pull) and add creep..........as the sear will not have enough room to fully disengage from the hammer to allow it to fall, it will scrape against the hammer as it falls putting gouge marks on the sear nose.

The sear is what holds the hammer back after each shot, and it is highly polished to allow for a crisp trigger pull that has no noticeable roughness to it.

So, having too much over travel will not hurt anything, as the grip safety has a built stop anyway.............BUT have too little travel and you've just ruined your trigger pull weight ..........and it only takes 2-3 pulls for that to happen.