Welcome to M1911.ORG
The M1911 Pistols Organization Forums Site

John needs your help
Please read this message.

Sponsors Panel
If you intend to buy something from the companies advertising above, or near the bottom of our pages, please use their banners in our sites. Whatever you buy from them, using those banners, gives us a small commission, which helps us keep these sites alive. You still pay the normal price, our commission comes from their profit, so you have nothing to lose, while we have something to gain. Your help is appreciated.
If you want to become a sponsor and see your banner in the above panel, click here to contact us.

Thread: Is this a good press?

THREAD CLOSED
This is an old thread. You can't post a reply in it. It is left here for historical reasons.Why don't you create a new thread instead?
    Posts liked by others

Is this a good press?

Sort-of on thread.
    I'm new to reloading. I'm looking at the Lee 50th Annev kit. Is this a good choice?
    Why a single over a turret over a progressive?
    Also, can you seat e.g. RCBS dies in a Lee?
    Bert

Posts liked by others
    RCBS dies work fine in a Lee press, but if you are using lubricated Lead bullets, give some thought to using Dillon seating dies, as they can be disassembled for cleaning without losing adjustment.

Single stage lets you look things over closely between steps. Turret presses lets you leave the case on the press, and speeds things up a good bit. Progressives speed things up a lot more, but are much more sensitive.

I like to size brass during bad weather times of the year. I like to prime brass off the machine using a hand primer, as priming on a progressive is where you get the most grey hair. If you go progressive, use lots of task lighting, use a powder which you use enough of to differentiate a less than normal charge from a normal charge, and a normal charge from a double charge.

Posts liked by others
    Quote Originally Posted by bert-tpsrr View Post