PDA

View Full Version : Another PT1911 Rookie

kbmgm
29th December 2009, 17:45
I traded for a Taurus PT1911B last week, and just got to shoot it today. I'm a law enforcement officer, and the department firearms instructor, so I have plenty of opportunities to shoot weapons. This was, however, the very first time I have ever shot a 1911 of any sort. And WOW! What have I been missing? I don't really know how the Taurus stacks up against the rest, but I was very impressed. With my first magazine, I was able to maintain about a quarter-size group from the 15 yard line - much more accurate than my Glock. I loved the trigger pull!

I do have a couple questions for you Taurus gurus, though. I want to either strip and polish the trigger, hammer, barrel bushing, mag release, grip safety, and ambi safety provided they're made from aluminum or stainless steel, or have them nickel plated if they're made from carbon steel. So, my question is what are they made from, and has anybody else attempted this? Thanks for your opinions and advice...

tony315
29th December 2009, 18:28
you would be better off having them plated.

http://www.fordsguns.com/

Tennessee Tom
29th December 2009, 20:12
I traded for a Taurus PT1911B last week, and just got to shoot it today. I'm a law enforcement officer, and the department firearms instructor, so I have plenty of opportunities to shoot weapons. This was, however, the very first time I have ever shot a 1911 of any sort. And WOW! What have I been missing? I don't really know how the Taurus stacks up against the rest, but I was very impressed. With my first magazine, I was able to maintain about a quarter-size group from the 15 yard line - much more accurate than my Glock. I loved the trigger pull!