PDA

View Full Version : 1991A1 Commander Purchase?

OH1911SM
16th October 2009, 20:54
I am thinking of purchasing a Colt 1991A1 Commander. I currently own a Colt Defender. My question is would the slide/barrel assembly of the Commander fit the frame of the Defender without any gunsmithing?

My goal is to create CCO / Commanding Officers pistols...I think I read somewhere that with Series 70 pistols the swap between a Commander and an Officers Model could be made with no smithing...if this is true, was wondering if the same could be done as described above?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, and while I am no stranger to 1911 pistols, I am no expert on the inner workings as some seem to be, so if this is a dumb question please excuse me. :o

Hawkmoon
16th October 2009, 22:19
"Probably"

I have put a Mark IV Commander top end onto an M1991A1 Compact receiver. I lucked out -- the rail dimensions were nearly identical and the Commander slide went onto the Compact frame like it was a gunsmith fit.

OH1911SM
17th October 2009, 12:29
Thanks,

When the money is right, I will make the purchase reguardless...just didn't want to try something unsafe! :nono:

smokey
17th October 2009, 16:35
OH1911SM, you cannot put the Commander slide on the Defender bottom. The dust cover[the forward extention of the frame] is too short. You need an officers model frame to do a CCO.Sorry but I also thought of that when I couldn't find a Lightweight Officers frame to do another for myself.Regards, Nick

smokey
17th October 2009, 18:03