PDA

View Full Version : is it safe to dry fire?

LucasM
17th July 2008, 13:33
some people have told me that it will damage my rock island gi. what say the experts?

doctruptwn
17th July 2008, 14:26
Lucas, I'm no expert, But a dry fire rarely is OK I certainly wouldn't make a practice of it, as it is hard on any 1911 not just the Rock. This also goes for letting the slide slam forward on an empty chamber.

LVSHOOTER
17th July 2008, 14:43
I dry fire all of my 1911's. It's a major part of my training.

Shooter_454
17th July 2008, 14:47
I dry fire my 1911's never had a prob with any of them.

Mgonz45
17th July 2008, 14:54
I dry fire my 1911's never had a prob with any of them.
Been dry firing near 20 years for training with no probs.

Just a quick point: "dont dry fire" is a belief started in the day of percussion arms when you did not want to drop a hammer directly on a niplle without a cap because it would damage it. Just an old practice that has stuck in peoples heads for some reason.

doctruptwn
17th July 2008, 15:23
Hey, I said I wasn't an expert, and this is why. Good information to know. Thanks guys.

Alcoy
17th July 2008, 15:45
I dry fire a lot without any problems from it. I agree with drtruptwn not to slam on on empty chamber. I also always chamber a round from the magazine.

Enjoy the forum. I am learning a lot from it.

tonka
17th July 2008, 18:55
Chambering a round from the magazine will keep you from putting too much stress on the extractor (the hook won't have to snap over the cartridge rim.) Dry firing the 1911 is OK; there are firearms that shouldn't be dry-fired, notably a lot of rimfires, but most centerfire arms really don't suffer from it. I still don't dry fire my hunting rifles, and generally use snap caps in my RIA GI model just 'cuz I can't help myself.