View Full Version : Question
5th April 2008, 12:16
I am about to compete in my first match on the 20th. My question is the IDPA rule book says you suppose to bring what you would be carrying on the street. I carry my springer I mag in and I carry I mag in my single single stack Don Hume mag pouch. I only use 7 rounders. Will I not be able to compete with just 2 magazines. I would like to keep my cost down and not have to go buy or even "try" to find a double mag pouch for my single stack.
5th April 2008, 12:36
If I understand IDPA rules correctly, you are limited to no more than two magazines in a belt pouch. But you may carry additional magazines in your pockets. So you could carry your one additional magazine in your single pouch and one or more additional magazines in your pockets. If you need to go to a third magazine, having it in your pocket will lose you some time, but I believe it would be IDPA legal.
5th April 2008, 12:46
well I guess I limited to 5.11 Pants
5th April 2008, 12:53
well I guess I limited to 5.11 Pants
Probably not. I don't think you'd be likely to need more than two or three more magazines, in addition to the one in your belt pouch. You could probably carry those easily in the back pocket of jeans or chinos.
6th April 2008, 11:18
I looked in the rule book again there looks like there is nothing over 15 rounds in anyone stage. Will they allow me to jack one in the pipe and then put a roundback in the magazine.
6th April 2008, 18:40
Generally, the round count specified for a stage is the minimum. You never want to limit yourself to the minimum however. You may need to make up a shot or you may need an extra magazine to clear a malfunction.
6th April 2008, 21:24
IDPA has an 18 round max per stage. So you may need a second reload with a 1911. I've shot many stages with 18 round requirements and as Frank pointed out you never want to have just enough. It's alway good to have a few extra rounds available in case you throw one into the berm.
You don't have to go out and buy and extra mag carrier, just tuck another mag. into your belt. That's legal as long as it is secure. If it pops out, you will need to retrieve it or face a procedural penalty.
When it's your turn to shoot you will move to the starting point and the SO will ask you if you under stand the course of fire. If you do you will be instructed to load to Division capacity. Since you are using 7 round mags. that means 7 round in the mag and one in the chamber.
Make sure you let the match director know you are new to IDPA. I'm sure they will get you lots of help and I'll bet someone will loan you and extra mag. holder. I've loan out equipment many times so a new guy can get started. You've got to have new shooters to make the sport grow.
6th April 2008, 21:34
If it's legal to do, I'd just stick an extra mag in my belt. I have a double mag pouch and still tuck one behind it in the belt or have an extra mag in my back pocket. I'm not shooting IDPA though. Just a course of fire that the other shooters happen to have Glocks and other hi cap pistols. They shoot the entire thing without reloading and I reload twice.
7th April 2008, 01:19
If I were using my glock 19 there wouldn't be any need to ask quesions. I need two boxes of carry ammo just to have it carry ready.
8th April 2008, 02:33
But in IDPA, all guns are limited to 10 rounds per magazine.
It makes sense, otherwise an ESP shooter in Texas would have an advantage over his California counterparts at a national tournament (unless the guys from CA can rent some hi-cap mags). And shooters in hi-cap ban states would have disproportionally low rankings.
But it does seem unfair that a Glock or XD owner can't capitalize on one of the biggest strengths of his gun: the capacity.
8th April 2008, 14:18
You will need a minimum of three magazines. You can run, but may not be competitive with seven rounders.
The "stuff it in the belt" thing is not legal, since you are required to have the magazine secured and to have the top two inches completely covered. You cannot expose the top of the mag (bullet visible). Unless you are sticking it inside your pants, behind the belt, this is a no-no. In a pocket is legal. A double mag pouch from somewhere like Fobus is cheap and a great convenience. Eventually you will want more mags. You will want one as a "top off" mag so you don't have to fumble around stuffing a loose round into your starting mag at the line. I can't fault you for sticking with sevens for carry, but in IDPA they are a bit of a disadvantage.
At this point, the best thing to do is get one more mag and just show up with what you have. The people there will undoubtedly take you under their wings and teach you the rest.
9th April 2008, 11:26
If this is your first Match.........Don't worry about being competitive. When the match is over (if you are like I was) you will likely find that you have a list of things that might be improved upon and, I'll guess, that magazine capacity won't be at the top. Although IDPA does have an air of competition; In my opinion, it's greatest benefit is to help us wring out the equipment that we ACTUALLY carry, and promote good gun handling skills. Have fun and let us know how you do. Not necessarily how you scored- but what you learned. Be safe and have fun.
17th April 2008, 04:07
I looked in the rule book again there looks like there is nothing over 15 rounds in anyone stage. Will they allow me to jack one in the pipe and then put a round back in the magazine.
Actually, you must top up your magazine.
19th April 2008, 10:39
Bottom 2 inches of mag must be covered not top 2 inches as it would be hard to get the mag out. CDP is 8 +1 in pipe max, SSP and ESP are 10 + 1 in pipe max. Extra mag is the way to go for putting one down the pipe and then insert an 8 rounder in CDP. Spare mags may be stored in single or double mag carrier or in pocket.
vBulletin v3.0.13, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.